Understanding Google Ad Reporting Terminology
Modified on: Wed, 12 Oct, 2022 at 3:50 AM
Google Ad Reporting provides live reporting and analysis for your client’s digital ad campaigns. Google Ad Reporting provides big-picture campaign analysis so it is easy to understand your client’s ad performance and increase their ROI.
Covered in this article:
- 1. Impressions
- 2. Clicks
- 3. Conversions
- 4. Client Spend
- 5. Average CPC (Cost per Click)
- 6. Cost Per Conversion (CPA)
- 7. Conversion Rate
- 8. Revenue
- 9. ROI
- 10. Sales
- 11. CPS (Cost per Sales)
- 12. Leads
- 13. CPL (Cost per Lead)
An impression is the number of times your ad is displayed on a search results page or another website within the Google network.
When someone clicks your Ad, like on the Blue Headline or Phone Number of a Text Ad, Google Ads Counts That As A Click.
A conversion is any interaction between a user and your website where the user completes an action that you’ve defined as valuable to your business. For example, if I visit your site and view a specific webpage, that would be one type of conversion. If I download your eBook, sign up for your newsletter, or take another action, that would also be considered a conversion. The goal of conversions is to convert visitors into customers.
4. Client Spend
Is the cost of running the ad plus the management fees (this is only visible to Agency Admin and Agency User)
5. Average CPC (Cost per Click)
CPC is the average amount that a publisher pays for each click on their ad. The higher the CPC, the more expensive it will be to place an advertisement.
The cost of placing an advertisement can vary depending on many factors such as:
- Advertiser’s budget
- Number of impressions
- Location and time of day
- Type of content in which
6. Cost Per Conversion (CPA)
is a metric that measures the average cost of acquiring one new customer. It’s also known as Cost per Acquisition, or CPA. It is calculated by dividing the total cost of ads by the total number of conversions.
7. Conversion Rate
Conversion rates are calculated by simply taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the number of total ad interactions that can be tracked to a conversion during the same time period. For example, if you had 50 conversions from 1,000 interactions, your conversion rate would be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%
When an opportunity is marked as won, the opportunity will have a Lead value (monetary) added. It is sum total of all the opportunity which is marked as won for a specific google ad campaign.
When adding a lead value only use numerical integers. There is no need to add a $ sign as its already accounted for in the field (See example below)
Return On Investment (ROI) is measured by calculating the ratio between the costs incurred during an advertising campaign and the revenues generated from that campaign. ROI can be applied to each individual ad, or to the entire page.
It refers to the leads/opportunities that have been marked as won.
11. CPS (Cost per Sales)
CPS is measured by dividing the cost of running a specific campaign by the number of opportunities marked as won.
It refers to the leads/opportunities that are recorded as open through form submission, response via chat widget, or phone call.
13. CPL (Cost per Lead)
CPS is measured by dividing the cost of running a specific campaign by the number of opportunities that are in the open stage.
Did you find it helpful? Yes No